Recipe roundup: Oven-baked french fries

Recipe and image via Naturally Ella

If there’s one thing I could eat each and every day (except for chocolate, obviously), it’s french fries. Homemade, fast food, restaurant…anything goes. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, coated in salt or/and herbs, with a dollop of ketchup or Tartar sauce…oh my. I would love to start making them regularly at home, but the idea of splurging on a deep fryer doesn’t really seem that much appealing to me. My counter top space isn’t unlimited, and besides french fries (and maybe some fried mozza sticks) I don’t really see much use for it. Plus, I know that if I caved in and splurged on one, I’m pretty sure my palate would be delighted, but my waistline slightly less so.

So, right now, I’m on the market for the perfect baked potato fry recipe. If you have one, please send it my way. In the meantime, you can find me experimenting in my kitchen with these ones:

Image via Layers of happiness

This one wins the prize for the best tutorial. I would never have guessed that sticking the raw potatoes into cold water could make such a big difference! (via Layers of happiness)

Image via Food done light

This is a British classic – I first tasted in when I was in London a few years back, and became hooked almost instantly. I can’t wait to give this salty & tangy combo a try at home! (via Food done light)

Image via Kailley’s Kitchen

This is the most decadent one. A drizzle of truffle oil? A sprinkle of truffle salt? A coat of freshly grated parmesan? Check, check, check! (via Kailley’s Kitchen)

Image via Minimalist Baker


Being such a lover of anything with garlick, I really can’t believe I’ve never tried to pair it with french fries. Lucky thing John and Dana thought about it! (via Minimalist Baker)

Image via Skinny Taste

Skinny fries, garlic and parmesan. A winning trio in my book! (via Skinny Taste)

Image via Sizzling veggies

And here it goes again. It seems I can’t get garlic out of my mind. Throw in some Italian seasoning and fresh or dried rosemary, and I’m as happy as a bird with a french fry (pun absolutely intended!). (via Sizzling veggies)

Image via Tasty yummies

Beth had me at her spicy garlic aioli. Yum! (via Tasty yummies)

Image via Shugary sweets

Blue cheese dipping sauce? Another thing I’ve yet to try. This recipe sounds just amazing! (via Shugary sweets)

Image via The talking kitchen

Finally a way to use all that fresh green parsley and cilantro that’ve been sprouting on my balcony! (via The talking kitchen)

Which recipe would you love to try? And of course, if you have a favorite one of yours, be sure to share it in the comments!

Bon appétit! 

Leave a comment