DIY: Hand painted earrings

I’ve been smitten with Tom Binns‘ colorful creations for quite some time, but obviously, at 900 dollars a piece they are way out of my price range. Inspired by several beautiful bloggers’ DIY projects, I’ve decided to try and make some colorful jewelry all by myself. 
I’ve been collecting costume jewelry for several years, and I have tons and tons of pieces in every shape and color possible. Hovewer, when I go through my collections from time to time, I see items that I’ve grown tired of or that I don’t love anymore (hello, impulsive purchases!). This time, instead of giving them away, I’ve decided to give a few pieces a second chance and revamp them. Here’s how I proceeded:
First on my “to remake” list were these sparkly rhinestone earrings that felt somewhat plain and uninteresting. 
I picked up two bright nail polishes (Essie’s Cute as a Button and Fiesta) and started to paint. The inner circle became orange…
… and the outer circle became hot pink (what a surprise!). 
I painted two coats of each nail polish and the results were far beyond my expectations. 
Say hello to my new favorite pair of earrings! Next on my list: vintage brooch and statement necklace. 

35 thoughts on “DIY: Hand painted earrings

Leave a comment